2016 AWIS New Jersey High School STEM Scholarship Winners

2016FN AWIS-NJ STEM Scholars

Established in 1995, AWIS NJ empowers and promotes women scientists through programs that facilitate career development, education, networking, leadership and entrepreneurial opportunities.

For close to 20 years, we have been offering STEM scholarships to female high school students from all parts of New Jersey who display high academic performance, are active in extracurricular activities and plan to pursue STEM careers.

The 2016 high school STEM scholarship winners were highly recommended. Their thought-provoking essays enlightened the review committee about the lives and aspirations of the applicants as well as the accomplishments of inspirational New Jersey women scientists. Our reviewers consider the winners among the top young women of scientific aptitude that New Jersey can offer.

2016 AWIS New Jersey High School STEM Scholarship Review Committee

Michael P. Shakarjian, PhD (Chair)

Smita Thakker-Varia, PhD

Jillian Whidby Freund, PhD

Roberta Batorsky, PhD




Editorial Board

Kamana Misra, PhD (Founding Editor)

Smita Thakker Varia, PhD

Doranelly Koltchev, PhD

Gina Schaefer

 Section Editorial Board

                                               Gender Forum                        Science Spotlight                                                

Editors                               Joan Bennett, PhD                 Helene Hill, PhD                                  

                                              Elaine Zundl                             Constance Jeffery, PhD

Assistant Editors           Natalie Batmanian, PhD      Srabasti Dutta, PhD

                                                                                               Jillian W. Freund, PhD

                                                Chemical Matters                 Clinical Corner                                  

Editors                                Patricia Weber, PhD             Nazish Huq                                           

Assistant Editors            Surabhi Garimella, PhD      Adana Davis   

                                               Aneh Chumbow                                                                                              

                                                Tech Insights                           Medical Affairs      

 Editors                                Deanne Taylor, PhD              Lillian Kirk
Assistant Editors             Sharon Sibilia, PhD               Paula Bistak
                                                                                                     Linda O.-Kutner