2016 AWIS New Jersey High School STEM Scholarship Winners

Posted on Updated on

2016FN AWIS-NJ STEM Scholars

Established in 1995, AWIS NJ empowers and promotes women scientists through programs that facilitate career development, education, networking, leadership and entrepreneurial opportunities.

For close to 20 years, we have been offering STEM scholarships to female high school students from all parts of New Jersey who display high academic performance, are active in extracurricular activities and plan to pursue STEM careers.

The 2016 high school STEM scholarship winners were highly recommended. Their thought-provoking essays enlightened the review committee about the lives and aspirations of the applicants as well as the accomplishments of inspirational New Jersey women scientists. Our reviewers consider the winners among the top young women of scientific aptitude that New Jersey can offer.

2016 AWIS New Jersey High School STEM Scholarship Review Committee

Michael P. Shakarjian, PhD (Chair)

Smita Thakker-Varia, PhD

Jillian Whidby Freund, PhD

Roberta Batorsky, PhD



Scholarship Awarding on June 27th event co-hosted by the Douglass Project for Rutgers Women in Math, Science, and Engineering.

Posted on Updated on

AWIS NJ will be partnering with the Douglass Project for Rutgers Women in Math, Science, and Engineering for  the event to announce our winners and to hand out the awards to the winners and other selected participants.

The program will then continue as a workshop; “How to prepare your applications for medical  and  graduate Schools” . Panel members include:

Jim Millonig, PhD

Smita Thakker-Varia, PhD

Meryle R. Kramer.

Event sponsors and organizers:

Douglass Project for Rutgers Women in Math, Science & Engineering (Elaine Zundl, Dean and  Laura Stiltz, Director).

AWISNJ, Jeiven Pharmaceutical Consulting, Inc., Garden State Neurology & Neuro-Oncology, Coldwell Banker.

AWIS CJC Annual High School Senior Scholarship Applications, 2013

Posted on Updated on

AWIS CJC Annual High School Senior Scholarship Applications are now open for 2013

For full information follow the link:

2013 Annual High School Scholarship Application

Or click on the scholarships tab.

AWIS NJ Officers 2013:

Kamana Misra, PhD           Smita Thakker-Varia PhD           Gina Schaefer           Doranelly Kolchev PhD

2012 AWIS NJ scholarship recipients.

Posted on Updated on

The Association for Women in Science, NJ chapter is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2012 scholarship awards. These scholarship winners have each demonstrated exceptional performance and a special interest in pursuing STEM subjects in college. Congratulations.


Gabrielle Goodrow

The Marine Academy of Science and Technology, Highlands, NJ

1st Place.

Payal Marathe

West Windsor-Plainsboro High School North, Plainsboro, NJ

2nd Place

Amanda Autore

High Point Regional High School, Wantage, N.J.

2nd Place