Meet our 2018 STEM Scholars and the Scholarship Committee

For over 20 years Association for Women in Science New Jersey chapter has been annually offering New Jersey High School STEM awards & scholarships. The program and the past scholarship winners have been recognized in the New Jersey Senate by a New Jersey Assembly joint legislative resolution. Female high school seniors and juniors, residing anywhere in the state and interested in STEM careers can apply. Applicants are asked to write an essay on a female STEM professional with a NJ connection. Academic performance and teacher recommendations are also evaluated.

The Scholarship Review Committee congratulates the 2018 winners for their efforts and performance in the Scholarship Competition and considers these winners among the finest young women of scientific aptitude that New Jersey can offer.

AWISNJ 2018 High School Senior STEM Scholars:

1st Place:
Stephanie Wasik
Passaic Valley Regional High School
Little Falls, New Jersey
2nd Place
Tara Housen
Red Bank Catholic High School
Red Bank, New Jersey
AWISNJ 2018 High School Junior STEM Scholars:
1st Place:
Veronica Farag
Math and Science Magnet Program at Morris Hills High School,
Rockaway, NJ
2nd Place:
Selena Gonzalez-Sanchez
New Brunswick High School,
New Brunswick.
Ruby Jacobs
Hopewell Valley Central High School,
Pennington, New Jersey
Anika Pruthi
Middlesex County Academy for Allied Health & Biomedical Sciences
Woodbridge, New Jersey